The Security Council is undoubtedly the most important and most powerful organ of the United Nations. It consist of 15 members, five of which are permanent members (“P5 states “). These states also hold veto powers. The other 10 rotate in terms, each term the 10 spots are filled with 10 different states which do not possess the veto rights. The usual agenda of the SC includes major conflicts, threats to global peace and security or highly volatile political matters.

The topic will be announced 2 months prior to the conference. 

Country matrix:

Advanced: Federal Republic of Germany, Federative Republic of Brazil, Japan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of India, Republic of Indonesia, Republic of the Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, State of Israel,  Turkey, 

Expert: French Republic, People’s Republic of China, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America